Technology can create complete concert experience online, says TATA Sons chairman

N. Chandrasekaran, Chairman of TATA Sons Private Ltd. N. Murali, Dean of the School of Music, poses with the winners at Sunday's event.

N. Chandrasekaran, Chairman of TATA Sons Private Ltd. N. Murali, Dean of the School of Music, poses with the winners at Sunday’s event. | Image credit: M. VEDHAN

Technology can come in handy in creating an online concert experience, N. Chandrasekaran, chairman of TATA Sons Private Ltd., said Sunday.

Host Sadas ’96 day He said the conservatory’s annual conference and concert, as well as the awarding of Sangita Kalanidhi and other awards, while the concerts are being held online during the pandemic, they cannot create the atmosphere of a live performance.

He noted that Carnatic music itself is also evolving, saying: “If we have to face the future, we have to understand that online concerts are here to stay, it happens in every industry. The trick is how to keep it going. ”

gentlemen. While creating a fantastic Carnatic experience, the challenge, Chandrasekaran said, was capturing the attention of young people. “So, how do you reach the audience, expand the crowd base, and provide opportunities for those who can’t come to the concert,” he said.

On the subject of creating an “online concert experience,” he said there is enough technology to make it happen. “There are a lot of technologies that can give you capabilities, whether it’s 5G or the Internet of Things, sensors and the cloud, the question is how do you combine these technologies to create an experience. So you can feel it and be very close to it. In order to provide the concert experience and offline and The best experience online, I think that’s possible,” he said, adding that many institutions were already trying to create that experience.

Earlier, he awarded the Sangita Kalanidhi Prize to Neyveli R. Santhanagoplapan (2020), mridhangam maestro Tiruvarur P. Bhaktavatsalam (2021) and violin duo Lalgudi GJR Krishnan and his sister GJR Vijayalakshmi (2022).

The Sangita Kala Acharya award was awarded to nagaswaram players Kizhvelur NG Ganesan (2020), Ritha Rajan (2021) and RS Jayalakshmi (2022). The TTK Prize was awarded to Thamarakkad Govindan Namboodri (2020), Nemani Somayajulu (2021) and KV Anand (2022). The Musicologist Award was awarded to V. Premalatha. gentlemen. Chandrasekaran also awarded prizes to artists who won various competitions.

N. Murali, dean of the School of Music, said the awards were not given in 2020 and 2021 because the pandemic caused by COVID-19 only shortened the festival online. “Awards are most precious only when the winning artist accepts them in the presence of their peers, rasikas, admirers, well-wishers and their families. Therefore, we have decided to combine the missed year awards with the 2022 awards issued together,” he explained.

Source link